MLB Considering Divisional Realignment For 2020 Season

Major League Baseball is discussing every scenario possible to try to start up the 2020 MLB season. They seem to have a plan in place that would eliminate the traditional NL and AL alignments.

An official told Bob Nightengale of USA TODAY Sports that all 30 teams would return to their spring training facilities in Florida and Arizona and would only compete in those states, but with zero fans in the stands. This would be an effort to minimize risks in the midst of COVID-19 pandemic. The divisions would be realigned based on the geography of their spring training homes.


  • NORTH: New York Yankees, Philadelphia Phillies, Toronto Blue Jays, Detroit Tigers, Pittsburgh Pirates.
  • SOUTH: Boston Red Sox, Minnesota Twins, Atlanta Braves, Tampa Bay Rays, Baltimore Orioles.
  • EAST: Washington Nationals, Houston Astros, New York Mets, St. Louis Cardinals, Miami Marlins.


  • NORTHEAST: Chicago Cubs, San Francisco Giants, Arizona Diamondbacks, Colorado Rockies, Oakland Athletics.
  • WEST: Los Angeles Dodgers, Chicago White Sox, Cincinnati Reds, Cleveland Indians, Los Angeles Angels.
  • NORTHWEST: Milwaukee Brewers, San Diego Padres, Seattle Mariners, Texas Rangers, Kansas City Royals.

According to the report, the DH would likely become universal for the duration of the season.

Photo: Getty Images

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content